Monday Dig + Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes

Ah, yes, Saturday mornings with no work! I especially love Saturday mornings and cooking up a special, yummy breakfast. When I set my alarm for the mornings during the week, I usually think I am leaving myself enough time for at least 10 minutes to sit down and enjoy breakfast. Not. No matter how much time I leave, I seem to be running out the door with my breakfast in hand. That brings me to this week’s “Monday Dig”…

Ever since my husband’s aunt gave us honey and I made these awesome energy bites, honey has been sitting on my counter whispering softly, “You want toast.” Who doesn’t love a good piece of buttered toast? My favorite toast has always been restaurant toast–especially those crazy Greek’s and their family restaurant toast. Don’t worry, I’m Greek, so I can call them crazy. But lately, I think my own buttered toast drizzled with honey might be my new favorite kind of toast.

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter

 

This bread happens to be from the Great Harvest Bakery down the road. I LOVE their bread. The one pictured is their High Fiber 5 bread. I love all the nuts and seeds in this bread! So tasty.

Although I’m digging this honey toast regularly, my husband and I were totally digging these Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes for breakfast on Saturday.

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes

 

My husband actually made these for me once before one Saturday morning but I had had a long week so he snuck out of bed to let me sleep and made me these wonderful pancakes. They were wonderful…buuuuut missing one key part–the almond syrup that goes along with the recipe. On the original recipe he forgot to scroll down far enough to see that there was more to the pancakes. Oh well, they turned out great that day with regular syrup. But if you are going to indulge in these, I suggest making the almond syrup because it makes them that much better!

Go ahead. Indulge a little this next Saturday or Sunday morning. It’s allowed every once in a while.

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes

 

Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes 

Recipe Adapted from: Cooking Classy

Pancakes:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup 100% white whole wheat flour, or whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup poppy seeds
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups low-fat buttermilk
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 teaspoons almond extract
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste, or vanilla extract

Almond Syrup

  • 1/4 cup salted butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract

Pancakes

Preheat your griddle to 325 degrees. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flours, poppy seeds, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, milk, sugar, eggs, vegetable oil, almond extract, and vanilla extract for one minute. Pour the liquid mixture into the dry mixture and stir until just combined. The batter will be slightly lumpy.

Using a 1/4 cup, pour the batter onto the preheated griddle. Flip the pancake when golden on the bottom (bubbles won’t necessarily appear as they do in this pancake recipe). Cook the opposite side until golden. Serve warm drizzled with the almond syrup. Garnish with toasted sliced almonds or more poppy seeds, if you would like.

Almond Syrup

Melt the butter in a large sauce pan over medium heat. Whisk in the sugar, cream, and buttermilk. Cook the mixture until it begins to boil and the sugar has dissolved. Remove from heat and add the baking soda and almond extract, whisking for 10 seconds until the mixture is frothy and foaming.

Serve the pancakes warm with warm almond syrup. Enjoy!!

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes

One thought on “Monday Dig + Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes

Leave a Reply

