Turkey Chili

 

 

This post has been moved to:  http://heavensentpeanutbutter.com/turkey-chili-2/
Heaven Sent Peanut Butter

I love Tuesdays. Let me rephrase that…I love Tuesday mornings that I have off of school and work. Because I am still in school, my schedule is relatively inconsistent. Sometimes I have class on Tuesday mornings or sometimes I have a clinical or shadow experience. But not this morning. This morning was all to myself. And this spin bike. Oh, and this pilates mat.

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter

I am pretty lucky to work at a gym that provides a free membership. Even better, I can walk to one of the locations. If I don’t have something going on on Tuesday mornings, I make sure I dedicate my morning to exercise. I dedicate it to me.

All too often, as I’m sure many of you do the same, I don’t spend enough time for myself. I don’t even have children yet, so I can’t imagine how mothers do it. But I know it is important to spend some time for you. I strongly believe that if you are making yourself the best you you can be, you can better help those around you–and that’s what I strive to be about.

What will you do for yourself this week?

As a full-time undergraduate student, part-time graduate student, wife, and with two part-time jobs, my schedule can get pretty crazy. I tend to be a very organized person and I love to make to-do lists and cross them off. I love the feeling of accomplishment–even if it is the littlest task. This week I found a new printable from this website. In an effort to keep this week organized and “get-er-done”, I thought I would try out this new form of a to-do list. Check it out to see if it will work for you!

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Weekly Organization

But now for today’s recipe. That’s why you originally came, right? Well today’s recipe comes from my husband’s family cookbook. My mother-in-law spent A LOT of time putting together cookbooks filled with all kinds of family favorites, some of which I hope to share with you here. Some will just have to stay a family secret though! 🙂

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Turkey Chili

The recipe today is slightly adapted based on my liking–or based on things I had around the house. Today I added chopped red pepper since I had some left over from the weekend and didn’t want it to go to waste. Apparently today’s recipe turned out “awesome” because my husband just walked in to the room and asked, “Where did you get that chili recipe? It was AWESOME.” Since it’s husband approved, I think you’ll enjoy it too!

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Turkey Chili

Turkey Chili

Makes approximately 7 servings 

  • 1.5 pounds ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1, 28 ounce can, no-salt added diced tomatoes (fire roasted tomatoes make a great addition!)
  • 1 can condensed tomato soup
  • 1, 6 ounce can tomato paste
  • 2 ounces canned chopped green chilies
  • 1 medium red pepper, chopped (optional)
  • 1, 15.5 ounce can reduced-sodium black beans, undrained

In a large saucepan, brown ground turkey and onion. Drain any residual grease. Add all of the remaining ingredients, except the black beans. Bring to a boil; reduce the heat, cover, and simmer for 1 1/2 – 2 hours and stir occasionally. Add black beans and heat through.

Serve with corn chips, cheddar cheese, sour cream, plain greek yogurt, and/or crackers.

*Note: I love making this big batch and freezing several individual servings in my pyrex glass containers. Perfect for dinner next week or when you are too lazy to cook dinner on an upcoming night!

2 thoughts on “Turkey Chili

  1. I’m so glad you had some time to yourself on Tuesday. We forget how important that is!

    I thought the addition of the tomato soup was interesting! Sounds yummy. As the weather is slowly getting cooler out here, we’re definitely going to do more dinners like this. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Turkey Pumpkin Chili | Fearless Food & Fitness

Leave a Reply

