Monday Digs + Peanut Butter Pretzel Granola Bars

Often times there are products or new things that I feel I just have to share with you. With that being said, I have decided to introduce “Monday Digs”. ‘Digs’ refers to what I am currently obsessed with, or digging. Brought to you today…uh, by me, is my first dig!

Today’s dig needs little introduction beside this someecard:

1343980418392_7365393

Of course I went to Target today with a strict list–the items I knew I couldn’t purchase from Trader Joe’s. I think I deserve a gold star though, because the only thing I bought outside of the list was this:

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Angie's Kettle Corn

I almost bought a new coffee maker. But I’ll save that for purchase later this week and it will totally count that I still only strayed from the list for this one item.

My dig this week is Angie’s Kettle Corn…but not just any kettle corn, individual servings (0.5 ounce)! The cute popcorn packages were being advertised for trick or treat, but I quickly grabbed them because I often crave popcorn but cannot keep my portion control in check if I pop a whole bag. These little bags contain only 70 calories, 4 ingredients, are whole grain, free of high-fructose corn syrup and trans-fats, and gluten-free. Plus, they are only 2 WW+ points, if you are counting.

I’m excited to be adding these little packages to my lunch box when I have a long day at school and in need of a fun treat! Speaking of fun treats, these remind me of Clif Mojo bars. My lunch might be packed with both the kettle corn and these granola bars tomorrow. Don’t judge.

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Peanut Butter Pretzel Granola Bars

Peanut Butter Pretzel Granola Bars

Recipe Adapted from: How Sweet It Is

  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup puffed wheat (or rice) cereal
  • 1 cup crushed salted pretzels
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup dry roasted peanuts, chopped
  • 2/3 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup + 1 tablespoon agave nectar (or honey)
  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 13×9 pan and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the oats, cereal, pretzels, flaxseed, brown sugar, flour, and peanuts. Mix well. Slightly melt the 2/3 cup peanut butter in the microwave and then drizzle onto the mixture. Mix until well combined.

Next, add the melted butter and vanilla. Mix. Add the honey. Mix. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Press the mixture into the lightly greased pan. Bake for 20 minutes, or until golden brown. Cool completely before cutting and serving.

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Peanut Butter Granola Bars

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Monday Digs + Peanut Butter Pretzel Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: Gluten-Free No Bake Granola Bars | Inspirations Recipes

  2. Pingback: No-Bake Chewy Granola Bars | Heaven Sent Peanut Butter

Leave a Reply

