Green Monster = Healthy Fuel

I admit it. I’m not so great about eating vegetables. Yes, I know. I’m a future dietitian. But give me a little credit…I do try really hard. My goal, or rule you could say, is that we should be including at least one fruit and one vegetable with each meal. Even more so, we should be trying to consume them as part of healthy snacks as well. If you can stick to this guideline, chances are you are going to get a good amount of fruit and veggie servings.

But it isn’t always easy. Especially at breakfast for me. It was in this post that I talked about my dislike for eggs. I constantly give the recommendation of adding vegetables to your omelets to add a serving at breakfast time. But adding vegetables to breakfast gets complicated when you don’t like egg. And I know I’m a rare one, but I know others that don’t like them either! So there.

But…I have found a way! A tasty, healthy way! You have probably seen those “green” smoothies pop up every where all over Pintrest. Based on ones I have found and my own taste preference, my husband and I have come up with our own version of a green monster. Don’t judge this book by its cover. It’s green…yes, I know. REALLY green. But I promise you, this doesn’t taste green. Its base is actually a frozen banana, and I don’t even think it really tastes like banana. Give this green monster a try for breakfast, post-work out, or a snack to hold you over if dinner isn’t for another few hours. It has one serving of fruit and one serving of a vegetable. Trust. Me. Plus, it has peanut butter in it…hellllooo!

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Green Monster Smoothie

Green Monster

Makes: 1 Smoothie

WW+: 7 points

Ingredients: 

  • 1 ripe, frozen sliced banana (approximately 150 grams)
  • 1/4 cup non-fat, plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon creamy peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened, vanilla almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon chia seeds (optional)
  • Approx. 1 cup fresh spinach

*See notes below for alternatives*

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Green Monster Smoothie

Add all ingredients to a magic bullet (or, your preferred blender). Blend until smooth. Enjoy!

Notes: 

  • We use bananas that have gone past our preference of ripeness, then slice them and keep them in frozen bags until we are ready to make a smoothie. We always have frozen sliced bananas on hand!
  • You can really use any type of milk you would like. We don’t really use almond milk for anything but this smoothie. We have tried it will skim milk and didn’t like it as much.
  • Chia seeds are optional. I get mine from Trader Joe’s and add them to most of my smoothies. It adds additional protein, fiber, and omega-3’s.
  • You could also use vanilla greek yogurt, but I didn’t taste a big difference between vanilla or plain. Because I taste no difference, I choose the one with no added sugar.
Leave a Reply

