Cold Brewed Iced Coffee…Simplified!

I don’t know about you, but I can’t drink hot coffee in the summer time. There is just something about it. It isn’t just that it is hot, but the flavor too. I just can’t do it. And even though I’m not an everyday kind of coffee drinker, maybe only 2-3 times per week, I still spend way too much money at the coffee shops getting an iced coffee or iced latte. It kills me to pull my wallet out like that. But when I have early 5 a.m. shifts at work when I worked the previous night until 9 p.m., coffee is needed.

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Cold Brewed Iced Coffee

Even though I have been pinning iced coffee recipes for a about a year, I never actually took the time to brew my own…until now. Cold brewing iced coffee is really easy, it just takes time in advance to make it. The coffee has to sit for about 12 hours and then you have to strain it. It really isn’t laborous, just a little time consuming. But if you are anything like me, it is worth the mulah in the end. Plus, you can add your own flavors to it. For me, it’s just plain old half & half. My husband prefers the Coffee Mate Natural Bliss creamer (no trans-fats). And if you love your coffee shop’s shots of a flavored syrup, you can brew this coffee on your own and purchase your own syrup pump from online. We’re talking about lots of savings here!

I recommend getting a good, quality coffee to brew your own. In the Milwaukee area here, my husband and I tend to by loyal to our local shops, like Alterra and Stone Creek Coffee. Stone Creek is our favorite and within walking distance of our place, but Alterra has a baked oatmeal to die for! If anyone has a recipe like that, let me know, I’ve been searching long and hard to find a recipe to match Alterra’s!

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Cold Brewed Iced Coffee

 

Cold Brewed Iced Coffee

Recipe Adapted from: Smitten Kitchen

Makes: 2 drinks

  • 2/3 cup medium-coarse ground coffee
  • 3 cups water
  • Coffee filters
  • Your favorite creamer or sugar

In a large bowl, measure your ground coffee. Add the 3 cups of water, ensuring all of the coffee grounds are soaked with water. Cover and allow the bowl to rest at room temperature overnight or for 12 hours.

Using your actual coffee maker, add a coffee filter. Pour in your coffee/water mixture to the coffee filter until almost full, allowing it filter down into your coffee pot. Let the mixture filter for a few minutes until nearly all filtered. Change your coffee filter. Add the last half of the coffee/water mixture to the new coffee filter allowing it to filter into the pot once again. It will take a few minutes to completely filter.

Refrigerate in your coffee pot or fancy pitcher until ready to drink. Add to a fancy mason jar or regular glass filled with ice. Add your favorite milk, creamer, or drink black. Enjoy!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

