Pico de Gallo

I don’t know what took me so long to try them, but the tacos at Chipotle are one of my favorite things in the past few months. In college I really enjoyed the burritos at Chipotle. After graduation brought an end to my competitive athletic career, I moved on to the burrito bowls. Not working out 4+ hours a day forced me to remove the calorie packed, yet yummy white tortilla from my order. Since then, I have been enjoying the burrito bowls with the yummy cilantro lime rice. But a few months ago, I don’t know what came over me one day, but I tried the chicken tacos and haven’t ordered a burrito or bowl since. Now every time we are in a pinch for dinner and don’t have much at home, I always start craving chicken or steak tacos with guac, corn salsa, and pico de gallo from Chipotle.

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Pico de Gallo Salsa

After finding a new recipe for pico de gallo, I quickly added homemade tacos to the menu. I designed the meal as “make your own tacos”. I diced up some chicken, seasoned it, got out some flour & corn tortillas, shredded cheese, lettuce, and of course guacamole.

Try this new, fresh salsa recipe this weekend! Create your own taco night or serve it as an appetizer with some multigrain chips.

Tonight we are making a pork tenderloin with yummy parmesan basil orzo! If you haven’t made this orzo yet either, you should really add it to your menu this week!

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Pico de Gallo Salsa

Pico de Gallo Salsa

Recipe Adapted from: Sweet Life

  • 4 medium tomatoes, seeded & diced
  • 1 small white onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1 jalapeño, minced (without seeds)
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients and season with salt and pepper. Refrigerate until ready to serve on tacos or with chips!

3 thoughts on “Pico de Gallo

  1. Pingback: Flank Steak with Corn Pico de Gallo | My Passions

Leave a Reply

