Caesar Pizzsalad

Let me tell you about another foodie item that blew my mind. When I say “blew my mind”, picture the man from this AT&T commercial. Exactly what I’m thinking with those soft pretzels dipped in hot fudge and this… a caesar salad pizza, or better said as a PIZZ-SAL-AD!

When we headed up to visit a great friend in Appleton, Wisconsin, we went out to dinner and one of the pizza selections was a “Pizzsalad”. I didn’t even know how to pronounce it…you maybe having trouble too, but I can’t help you much over typed letters. The pizza was literally a pizza topped with caesar salad. It was DE-LI-CIOUS! I told myself right then and there that I was going to be making my own version of this as soon as I got home. Well…that was in the beginning of June. But the pizza hadn’t slipped my mind. Although, it wasn’t until it appeared on another menu last weekend while visiting more great friends in LaCosse, Wisconsin that I knew I had to make this pizza… I mean salad…I mean pizzsalad, once and for all.

So I did it. And it was fabulous! I should have brought some to this patient who pleaded for pizza from their hospital window as we went on our evening walk past Froedtert Hospital…

photo-14

If you enjoy pizza, caesar salad, and making a new dish for the evening, try out this new recipe that I put together on my own from inspiration from the two restaurants. I’m pretty sure this dish will be making its way to more pizzeria menus…including yours.

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Caesar Pizzsalad

Caesar Pizzsalad

    Herbed Pizza Crust:

Adapted from: Mommie Cooks

  • 1 cup warm water (approx. 110 degrees)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 packet yeast
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cup white whole-wheat flour

Caesar Pizzsalad

  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons light caesar salad dressing
  • 4 ounces, cooked & diced chicken breast seasoned with salt & pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups reduced-fat shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese
  • 2-3 cups chopped romaine lettuce
  • 1/4 cup bite sized croutons

Using your stand mixer attached with a dough hook, add water, sugar, and yeast to the mixing bowl. Mix and let the mixture stand for 10 minutes.

Next, add your garlic, olive oil, salt, basil, and onion powder. Combine. Add your flours and mix until well combined. Your dough should be slightly sticky. If too sticky to handle, add a little more flour. Let the dough sit for 10 minutes and preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

Once the oven is preheated, roll out your pizza dough onto your pizza stone or pan. Be sure to use corn meal on your pizza stone or lightly grease your baking pan. Bake the dough for 7-10 minutes.

Next, spread 1/4 cup of the dressing on the crust as your sauce. Layer the cheeses and spread the diced chicken. Place the pizza back in the oven for another 7-10 minutes until the pizza is golden brown.

Lastly, make sure your romaine lettuce is diced or shredded into bite size pieces. Toss the lettuce with the remaining 2 tablespoons of dressing. Spread the lettuce on the pizza and sprinkle on the croutons (we cut up our croutons into even smaller pieces). Take a moment to appreciate your work of art, then devour! Enjoy!!

Heaven Sent Peanut Butter: Caesar Pizzsalad

One thought on “Caesar Pizzsalad

  1. Pingback: Meatball Ricotta Pizza | Heaven Sent Peanut Butter

Leave a Reply

