Cheesy Chicken “Taquitos”

I know it has been a while since my last post. But now we finally have internet up and running at our new place! We have been pretty busy lately with work and being out of town, but we still have had some time to do some cooking and baking!

Earlier in the week I made a cream cheese coffee cake. But it wasn’t blog worthy. It wasn’t the coffee cake I was looking for. It was too bland with little sweetness to it. I’ll keep searching.

So I know this recipe post is similar to my last one, but it is worth it. I told you we were on a guacamole kick, so you can expect to see lost of posts that pair with guac well. Like this one…

Cheesy Chicken “Taquitos”. I put taquitos in quotes because I’m not sure this recipe truly qualifies as a taquito. I’m no expert on Mexican dishes…all I know is they pair well with guac! But I was under the impression taquitos were made with corn tortillas, wrapped small, and usually fried. Well these “taquitos” are none of those. These are made with whole wheat flour tortillas, loaded with cheesy chicken, and baked–not fried. Usually the recipes I post will be what we consider “healthified”–meaning I choose healthier ingredients, or low-fat versions of the ingredient. This one is no different to help healthify the dish. Get your quac out and make this favorite dish of ours tonight!

photo-28

Cheese Chicken “Taquitos”

  • 3 cups cooked shredded chicken
  • 6 ounces Neufchatel cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 cup 0% fat, plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • 1 1/2 cups reduced fat Mexican blend shredded cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh black pepper
  • 6 (6 inch) whole wheat flour tortillas
  • Olive oil, for lightly spraying the taquitos

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix together the chicken, cream cheese, yogurt, salsa, cheese, and black pepper.

Prepare a 9×13 pan by lightly greasing the pan.

Add the chicken and cheese mixture to each tortilla, trying to equally distribute the mixture among all 6 tortillas. Roll the “taquito” and set into the pan seam side down.

Once the taquitos are set into the pan, lightly spray the taquitos with olive oil. I used one of these to lightly spray the taquitos. (I use this instead of purchasing Pam or other cooking sprays).

Bake the taquitos in the oven to 375 degrees for about 20 minutes until everything is melted and hot. The tortilla should also be a little crispy. Serve with guac, sour cream, salsa, etc. Your choice. Enjoy!

photo-29

Leave a Reply

