Who Doesn’t Love a MONSTER Cookie?

Several weeks ago I had my husband purchase some peanut butter M&M’s when he headed to the grocery store. I’ve had the intention of making some sort of cookies for months! And my favorite cookies have always been any cookie with M&M’s, in particular the peanut butter ones. Of course. Well, after abstaining from sweets for a couple months for what I refer to as as Catholic Lent (I’m Orthodox and my husband is Catholic), I had been craving a good cookie for a long time. Well, I finally got around to making those frequently craved cookies and using the peanut butter M&M’s that were stashed in the cabinet for a few weeks. Will. Power. Yeah, I know.

There were several recipes that I was debating about using. Should I make a basic chocolate chip cookie and throw in some peanut butter M&M’s? Psh. Why would I do that when I can make a MONSTER cookie that contains peanut butter, peanut butter chips, peanut butter M&M’s…you get the idea.

After browsing my Pintrest boards and some recipes I had laying around, I finally decided on these from Mrs. Schwartz’s Kitchen. All the recipes I skimmed through sounded amazing, but when it came down to it, I happened to already have all the ingredients on hand for these puppies. Plus, who doesn’t love a soft MONSTER cookie?!

The best part of these MONSTER cookies (yes, I feel the need to capitalize MONSTER every time I type it) is that there aren’t a million ingredients. One of the best MONSTER cookies I’ve ever had are my husband’s family’s. Let me tell you…they are awesome! But when it calls for 3 pounds of peanut butter, I’d have to buy out the entire Sam’s Club inventory to keep up with my needs. This one is nice and simple and tastes wonderful!

Image

Monster Cookies

Recipe Adapted From: Mrs. Schwartz’s Kitchen

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1 cup peanut butter M&M’s
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter chips
  • 1/4 cup milk chocolate, or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Using a hand or stand mixer, cream together the butter and sugars. Add the peanut butter until well combined. Add the egg, then vanilla.

Beat in the baking soda and flour until just combined. Stir in the oats, M&M’s, chocolate chips, and peanut butter chips.

Image

Line cookie sheets with silicone mats, or spray with cooking spray. Roll about 2 tablespoons worth of dough and place on the cookie sheet. You will want to gently press down the cookies seeing as they do not spread very much themselves.

Image

Bake cookies for approximately 10 minutes. They are a little difficult to tell if they are done or not, but use your own discretion. Remove the cookies from the oven and allow them to cool for a few minutes before moving a a cooling rack.

Enjoy these MONSTER cookies with a big glass of milk! You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

