Breakfast for Dinner

I have the most amazing mom in the whole world. I mean it. Throughout my school days, my mom made us a H-O-T breakfast every morning! Yes, a hot breakfast before the kids, Dad, and Mom headed out the door for the day to start. French toast. Pancakes. Muffins. You name it. But Friday’s were always cinnamon roll Friday. I distinctly remember walking down the stairs with our meals neatly placed in our specific seats on the kitchen counter. Yep, we were that spoiled. I hope to some day be able to take after my mom to do this for my kids. Breakfast is important! If you aren’t eating breakfast every day, stay tuned for a nutrition lesson on the benefits of eating breakfast in a few days!

I also take after my mom for many things. One being some of our dislikes and likes of foods. I was never a little girl who dreamed about her wedding, until my now husband came around–I was a tomboy at its finest. But one thing my mother and I shared was our love for cheesecake. My mom and I talked about cheesecake as my wedding cake since I was a kid. It took a little convincing for my husband to agree (he is crazy about cake!), but our wedding cake was amazing with a cheesecake center! Marble cake, chocolate buttercream, cheesecake, chocolate buttercream, marble cake, and all covered by buttercream frosting. Yeah, I know. We ate the “anniversary cake” that is supposed to be frozen until your first anniversary within a week after getting back from our honeymoon.

 Tierney-720

Anyway, I also take after my mom in our dislike for fish and eggs. Yeah, I know. Those are two huge food groups. You are asking yourself: No Greek omelets? No healthy salmon? No scrambled eggs or egg whites? Nope. So unfortunately, you won’t see any recipes of that sort on this blog. My apologies.

But do you like pancakes? Yeah, me too. You will find those types of recipes here. Good thing.

Last night I decided to make a quick easy dinner since it was just me. If you are looking for a quick easy dinner or a weekend morning breakfast, try out these Oatmeal Pancakes! Add a side of scrambled eggs for some lean protein at your own discretion.

photo-25

Oatmeal Pancakes

Serves: 2-3

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 egg

Place all ingredients in a food processor and puree until smooth.

If you don’t have a big enough food processor, like me, mix all ingredients together in a bowl and mix until decently combined. The batter will still be lumpy. Add half of the batter into the food processor at a time and puree until smooth. Place the pureed batter into a separate dish, or a liquid measuring cup that will make it easy to pour on to the griddle. Puree the last half of the batter and place into the measuring cup.

Heat your griddle to 325 degrees (oil, if needed) or a lightly oiled frying pan over medium high heat. Pour the batter to desired size, but still small enough to flip easily! Flip when bubbles form throughout the pancake, like so:

photo-24

Flip and brown the opposite side. Serve hot and enjoy with desired toppings! Yum!

photo-23

4 thoughts on “Breakfast for Dinner

  1. Hello Sister,

    Let’s please point out that you were extremely spoiled. Remember when Mom used to make blueberry muffins, but leave some without blueberries… just for you! You. Are. Extremely. Spoiled.

    But you do spoil all of us from time to time. So I would say that you have started passing it on.

    Great blog.

    Love you,
    L

  2. Pingback: Green Monster = Healthy Fuel | Heaven Sent Peanut Butter

  3. Pingback: Monday Dig + Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes | Heaven Sent Peanut Butter

Leave a Reply

