Fake Greek

Someone once told me I was a “fake Greek” because I didn’t like Greek olives. Well, it’s true. I really don’t care for olives…or tzatziki sauce on my gyros. Since I’m not 100% Greek, I find this acceptable.

Each week I lay out the dinner menu for each night. I really enjoying cooking and baking, but when I don’t know what to make when dinner is supposed to be ready in a few hours, I don’t enjoy it so much. I also find that planning out the menu in advance saves on money by knowing exactly what to buy at the store, to help utilize items you already have or need to get rid of before they go bad, and planning meals based on the store’s sales that week. I keep my menu on the fridge right next to the grocery list.

photo-20

I plan my meals around my work, my husband’s work, going out of town, date nights, etc. I try to be realistic about what to make based on how much time I will have in the day or the question of: Am I really going to want to cook a time consuming meal if I am the only one who will enjoy it?

Because I found myself having a time constraint, I planned on making Chicken Gyros based on a recipe from The Girl Who Ate Everything. Apparently, she would be a better Greek than me since she enjoys the tomatoes and tzatiziki sauce. I’ll leave the toppings up to you, but here is the recipe for the chicken that we really enjoyed and was as easy as could be!

Chicken Gyros

Chicken Gyros

Recipe Adapated from: The Girl Who Ate Everything

  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice, or juice from 1 lemon
  • 2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon ground pepper (I used burbon barrel aged, cracked black pepper…yum!)
  • 1 1/4 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • Approximately 5 pitas

Combine all of the ingredients, except the chicken breast, into a medium size bowl. Whisk together until well combined.

Dice your chicken breast into bite size pieces, all about the same size. Add the pieces of chicken to the marinade and mix well to coat all of the chicken. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Cook the chicken in a skillet until completely cooked with no pink remaining. Transfer the mixture to a bowl or plate and allow it to rest for at least 5 minutes.

Warm your pitas. This will allow the pitas to be flexible enough to fold without breaking. Add sliced red onions, diced tomatoes, shredded cheese, and/or tzatziki to your hearts desire. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Fake Greek

  1. Pingback: Monday Dig + Almond Poppy Seed Pancakes | Heaven Sent Peanut Butter

Leave a Reply

