Chocolate Covered Pretzel PB Brownies

In my world, God sent us peanut butter from heaven. Who doesn’t love the most amazing combination of chocolate and peanut butter? Yes, I know, peanut butter and jelly is pretty awesome, but seriously.

I’ve been known to load my pintrest pages with peanut butter treats and not much of anything else–not even those healthy recipes that a student studying dietetics should be. Therefore, I thought it would be most appropriate for my first post to be the awesome brownies I made this weekend for my husband’s co-worker. My husband came home telling me that his co-worker was headed to a new job and wanted to make him something with peanut butter because he thought he liked peanut butter as much as me. Ha. Yeah. Right.

Anyway, I browsed my pintrest page and decided to make Chocolate Covered PB Brownies. I decided to try this recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction. I adapted her recipe slightly to what I had in the kitchen and some of my favorite touches to chocolate and peanut butter treats!

Image

Chocolate Covered Pretzel PB Brownies

Adapted from: Sally’s Baking Addiction

Brownies:

  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) salted butter
  • 8 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Peanut Butter Frosting:

  • 1 stick salted butter (1/2 cup), softened to room-temperature
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 3/4 cup powdered sugar

Toppings:

  • Approximately 24 pieces of Trader Joe’s Milk Chocolate Covered Peanut Butter Pretzels (or, any chocolate covered pretezels)
  • 1/4 cup hot fudge, optional

Directions: 

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a 13×9 inch baking pan by greasing it with cooking spray. Set aside.

Begin making the brownies by melting the butter and chocolate chips in a medium sauce pan on medium heat. Stir the mixture often to ensure it doesn’t burn. Heat until the butter and chocolate chips are melted and well incorporated. Remove the pan from heat and allow to cool until room temperature. (I removed the mixture from the pan and placed it in a glass bowl to allow for quicker cooling time.)

Once the mixture has cooled, stir in the sugar. Add each egg, one at a time, whisking the mixture until well mixed. Whisk in the vanilla. Fold in the flour and salt until combined. Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake the brownies for about 30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out almost clean.

While the brownies are baking, you can begin the peanut butter frosting if you choose. I decided to wait about 1 hour until the brownies were cooled. (Note: Do not frost the brownies until cooled)

To make the frosting, use your stand mixer or a handheld to cream the butter and peanut butter until completely smooth. Slowly add the powdered sugar until well combined. You may choose to use slightly less or more sugar depending on your desired consistancy.

Once the brownies are completely cool, frost the brownies. Next, chop up your pretzels (as many as desired, I just suggested 24). Sprinkle the pieces on top of the frosting, gently pressing the pieces to allow them to stick. Additionally, if preferred, drizzle some warmed hot fudge over the top with a spoon. Cool the brownies in the fridge for approximately 30-60 minutes to allow the frosting to set. Cut into as large or small of pieces you would like and enjoy with a glass of milk!

Image

One thought on “Chocolate Covered Pretzel PB Brownies

Leave a Reply

